Skip navigation

My week – or weeks’ just gone – have been rewarding, if challenging.  Home improvements have gone as far as they can go for the time being.  I’m very excited as I’ve won everything I wanted on Freegle including a small Formica top kitchen table dating back to 1950/60’s from a couple whose parents have downsized into a more suitable living space.  So the table’s just right to set up all my art materials without any space at all for anything else!  What a blessing.  And now that it’s all setup, I’ve run out of excuses 🙂  I’m feeling pleased with my efforts because I’ve spent roughly 1.5 – 2 hrs drawing two leaves today; one earlier on after lunchtime and the second which I’ve only just finished about 40 minutes ago – neither distinguish themselves as either outstandingly good or, worse still, painfully awful.  One observation is that I seem to be quite accurate with my measurements, often to the mm 🙂 which is awesome given my poor sense of spatial awareness.  Another observation is that this has only come about in the past couple of weeks after working on just being myself, accepting myself for who I am and appreciating all the brilliant botanical illustrators out there without feeling that there’s a competition going on with anyone including myself; I’m just here for the beer; – what a wonderful lesson that has been – True Freedom.

2015-08-30 15.33.162015-08-30 20.07.59

One Comment

  1. That’s such a big thing to learn ~ that it is not a competition! In my own experience it is a pressure I put on myself. It is not a pressure that others put on me, comparing me to others. Thanks for dropping by my blog, and leading me to yours. I am going to enjoy reading your adventures!


Leave a comment